Short answer: For a UK buyer, an AC/DC clamp meter should be judged against the work environment and the exact circuit, not just the promise of a broad range. The HABOTEST HT206D page describes AC and DC current checking, 60 A and 600 A markings, True RMS operation and CAT III 600 V wording. It also identifies an English-language unit supplied without a battery. The page does not state accuracy, resolution, jaw dimensions, battery type or calibration status. Use the documented facts to make a shortlist, then obtain written answers for any field that affects safety, records or compatibility.

What the UK product page actually confirms

The current page gives a compact set of checkable facts: HABOTEST HT206D, English version, AC/DC clamp-meter format, 60 A and 600 A markings, True RMS wording, CAT III 600 V wording and no battery supplied. The product image also shows several accessories, but an image is not a complete written contents list.

Those facts are enough to compare the model with an initial job description. They are not enough to promise measurement accuracy, a particular jaw capacity or suitability for a named vehicle, panel or installation. The manufacturer does not specify those details on the current page.

Documented detailHow to use it in a shortlist
AC/DC current wordingKeep the model in scope when both current types matter
60 A and 600 A markingsCompare with expected current, without inventing accuracy
True RMS wordingRecord it as a feature label, not a full performance report
CAT III 600 V wordingCompare with the work environment and required evidence
No battery suppliedPlan the power requirement before the first job
Product feature overview

Compare the meter with the UK work setting

A UK workshop, plant room or vehicle bay can present very different access and risk conditions. The intended conductor may be easy to isolate and reach, or it may be crowded, bundled or part of a circuit that requires a specialist method. A clamp format does not guarantee that the jaws will fit, because the product page does not publish jaw opening or conductor capacity.

HSE states that electrical work should be planned, equipment or machinery prepared, energy sources isolated securely where relevant and the work carried out by competent people. These controls remain necessary even when the instrument shows a CAT marking.

  1. Describe the circuit type and current range before comparing products.
  2. Check whether an individual conductor can be reached by the planned method.
  3. List any required accuracy, calibration, lead or recordkeeping evidence.
  4. Confirm the exact English HT206D variant and the no-battery supply.
  5. Ask for missing specifications instead of borrowing them from another model.

Separate feature labels from performance claims

True RMS and CAT III 600 V are visible product information, not a complete technical datasheet. The current page does not state accuracy, resolution, frequency range, jaw dimensions, lead rating, calibration evidence or battery type. The manufacturer does not specify these unknowns in the public description.

This distinction matters when a measurement will be recorded, used to release equipment or compared against a defined tolerance. A cautious buyer keeps the documented label and the unverified performance field separate in the purchase record.

Limits and checks before buying

The HT206D can be a sensible shortlist item for a UK buyer who needs AC/DC current checking within the marked ranges and can work within a competent procedure. It is not a substitute for a full manual, a site risk assessment or calibration evidence.

Confirm the delivered contents, required battery and missing technical fields before ordering. If any one of them is essential to the job, wait for written confirmation or select a product whose documentation states the requirement clearly.

For UK buying, use the HT206D listing as a fact sheet for an initial match, then verify the missing technical and safety evidence before relying on it. Read Clamp Meter for DC Battery Current UK: What to Check for related guidance. Read DC Current Clamp for Van Circuits: Check the Meter First for related guidance. Review the documented specification on the HABOTEST HT206D AC/DC Clamp Meter (English, No Battery) product page before ordering.

Sources and safety context